To Old Friend


I remember that,
time- diamonds bought
Barter an emerald,
gold some, caught…
It was a simple
game on board…
Imagination, grins,
no fear of sword…

It’s been years,
years, since we played…
But my dear, friend,
in that day, you stayed…
Your biggest sacrifice,
though I understand…
“Is progress worth
                 of what we stand?”

No time to stop,
no time to sing…
“Into your work,
                 our friendship sink!”
In clock’s hand, left,
you’re left to guide…
Less and less,
you’re by my side…

A proper guide-
all fear and respect…
“I gapped away,
                 what do you expect?”
Moments cherished,
in past years…
Tiny friendship sparks-
my fears…

To seek your guidance,
to seek your time…
I do things…
not worth a dime…
No better ideas;
and you are annoyed…

Philosophical storm,
armies deployed…

With barmy grin,
taking on, I stand…
Whilst you’re hurt,
out of my hand…
With all the feelings,
I’m torn apart…
My ordeals
– a hole for your heart…

With all your heart
and flimsy memories
You still call me a friend
in front of families…
With all the love,
we still each send…
I say: “You became my guide,
                but no more- a friend…”

Your Point of View Counts

